45. Scott Pilgrim Vol. 2: Scott Pilgrim vs. the World Bryan Lee O’Malley – I’m not going to review every single one of these. See the review for Vol. 1 for all the details. Short version: good nerdcore fun. Read the books. Watch the movie.

46. The Lonely Polygamist by Brady Udall – This! This has been my favorite book of 2010. I was afraid it would fall into my least favorite genre: self-indulgent middle-aged white men. But despite sharing some traits with those “my small troubles are so important” books, it was incredibly good.  If you’re curious about plyg culture (well, a fictional depiction of it) or just enjoy a quirky story about interior crises, I recommend this book. The narration moved between the husband/father of the title, his wives, and one of his many children, and these varied perspectives on a complicated family life were fascinating.

47. You Shall Know Our Velocity! by Dave Eggers – Meh. I’ve enjoyed everything else I read by Eggers, but this book didn’t do much for me. The whiny 20-something guys in this book would some day become the self-indulgent, middle-aged white men I mentioned before.

48. Scott Pilgrim Vol. 3: Scott Pilgrim & the Infinite Sadness by Bryan Lee O’Malley

49. Scott Pilgrim Vol. 4: Scott Pilgrim Gets it Together by Bryan Lee O’Malley

50. Scott Pilgrim Vol. 5: Scott Pilgrim vs. the Universe by Bryan Lee O’Malley

51. Scott Pilgrim Vol. 6: Scott Pilgrim’s Finest Hour by Bryan Lee O’Malley

52. West with the Night by Beryl Markham – I bought this book for my mother because she loves stories of strong women who travel the world. In West with the Night, Markham tells the story of her life as one of the first female pilots in Africa. Her writing style was far better than I expected from someone who claimed not to be a writer. Recommended for readers interested in women’s history or travel in Africa.

