Hey, welcome to my BIRTHDAY!

For the first time ever, I’ve dreaded its approach. Why? Because there is no longer a buffer year between me and 30. Yup, as of today I am 29.

I’m a firm believer in aging gracefully, but for months now this one has been nagging me. I polled friends who are also approaching 29, and they confirmed that this number has gotten under their skin as well. After periodically panicking over the past few months as I counted down my birthday’s approach, during the week leading up to it I’ve finally accepted it. It’s okay. I certainly don’t want to go back to being 21 (ugh) or 25 (ick) again, so I’ll take age if it means I get the life I have now. I’m head over heels for my husband (and our pack of animals), and I feel totally at home in my degree program, which makes me feel so much better about my career and the future in general.

So… Hello, 29. I’m glad you’re here. I may be so glad that I’ll decide to turn 29 again for a few more years, but I plan to age with grace and style. And probably bourbon.

(Image source)

