58.White Teeth by Zadie Smith – This book wasn’t as good as I had expected it to be based on all of the buzz, but it was an incredibly good first novel. I would recommend it to anyone interested in the mingling (and crashing) of different cultures.

59. Paladin of Souls by Lois McMaster Bujold – Read this one based on a strong recommendation and wasn’t disappointed. This is the sequel to The Curse of Chalion, but I read it without reading the first book and didn’t feel that I missed anything (though I will go back and read it eventually).  Recommended for those who like fantasy but prefer their queens to be able to think for themselves.

60. This Book is Overdue by Marilyn Johnson – A hit and miss book recommended for future librarians. I nearly threw it out the window because of the incredibly long chapter on Second Life (book was pub’d in 2010, and Second Life became old news circa 2007), but otherwise I found it interesting and informative.

61. Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins – More than enough articles and blog posts have already been written about this lovely trilogy, so I will just say: believe them! I loved these books (as has everyone I’ve talked to about them), and the story was so compelling and easy to read that I raced through the series at full speed. There are rumors of a movie, and I hope they do the characters justice.

62. Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins – Hunger Games book 2

63. Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins – Hunger Games book 3

64. What I Talk About When I Talk About Running by Haruki Murakami – Enjoyable memoir by the author of Kafka on the Shore and Norwegian Wood that talks about far more than just running. Though it will be of particular interest to the niche group of  runners who love literature (like me!), it would also appeal to those who only match half of that group (either readers of Murakami or people who enjoy thoughtful books on running).

65. Hello Kitty Must Die by Angela Choi – I’m trying unsuccessfully to come up with something positive to say about this book. Here’s all I can manage: if you like Chuck Palahniuk or the Dexter books, you may enjoy this. I like Palahniuk’s books and some other darker stories, but I am obviously not the target audience for this book. When I finished it, I felt like my brain needed a bath. I expected girl power and got sociopaths instead.

66. Kick Ass by Mark Millar & John Romita Jr – This is the graphic novel behind the recent movie. I saw the movie first, but still enjoyed this quick read.

67. The Organization of Information by Arlene Taylor and Daniel Joudrey – Yes, this is a textbook, but if I read an entire textbook, it gets to go on my book list! The partial reads (like my reference textbook) are relegated to an end of the year addendum in my reading notebook.

