I just received an email from my CSA about our fourth pick-up later this week, so I must be a tad behind.  Load number 3 is pretty much gone from the kitchen by now other than a stray bit of garlic or onion, but I still have pictures to share!  No crazy bike adventures to share because this was in the midst of the OMG LAST WEEK AT WORK business.

And this is my photography assistant, with his strong opinion on the placement of the okra (it should apparently be carried around the house, not left on the kitchen table). Also, I promise we have other animals. Other cats, even. He’s just the most assertive about having his picture taken.

So without further ado, our bounty of the week accompanied by my attempts at food photography:

Okra – the July issue of Southern Living* showed up just in time with an article about the summer trifecta: okra, corn, and tomatoes. I made the okra maque choux for my Cajun husband, and he’s already asking for me to make it again. Delicious! This accidentally turned into a sausage-heavy meal (I’m struggling for a better phrase than “sausage fest” thanks to the “Home Wreckers” episode of How I Met Your Mother) because I absentmindedly thawed out the boudin instead of the smoked sausage his father made that would actually work for the recipe. (Are you noticing an absentminded trend here?). Boudin falls into the category of I DON’T WANT TO KNOW WHAT’S IN THIS. My father-in-law was a butcher and the Cajuns in general are a bit more open-minded than me about what parts of an animal are edible, so I politely eat and ask that they not tell me if it contains organ meats or other random bits. Eww. I”m from the totally wimpy “meat should be boneless and skinless” camp.  Traditional maque choux like my hubs makes is pretty much just corn and tomatoes (and no meat), so you could easily make this one veg-friendly if you prefer.

MORE patty pan squash – Perhaps I waited too long to cook these. Either way, we were unimpressed. It wasn’t terrible, but we won’t be making it again.

A variety of garlic – I should have written down all the types of garlic! By the time I got home I already wasn’t sure which was what. Whatever they are, they’re tasty. We received a garlic press as a very belated wedding present (ok, perhaps we bought one as a replacement for a belatedly returned duplicate gift), and it makes me happy.

Blueberries – Nothing fancy for these lovelies. They’ve been thrown onto cereal, brownies, and buttermilk french toast. And my apologies to Queen Martha, but when you make her yummy, tangy french toast recipe, please completely ignore the nutmeg and substitute cinnamon.

Humongous zucchini of unknown variety and baby yellow zucchini – Casualties of war. We were out of town for a few days right after the pick-up (Hello, Austin!) and came back to sad, shriveled squash. Oops.

*Yes, I receive the Southern Living. Of course I only read it after I’ve put on my pearls, ruffled apron, and heels and fixed my hair like a good exiled Alabama girl.

