This past May I didn’t think much about it being 10 years since high school graduation. Sure, it was weird to get the invitation to the reunion that will be this fall, but I didn’t spend time reminiscing about the good old days.

But right now I’m going back to school, and as I get ready for my first class tonight I can’t help but think of when I started college 10 years ago this month. I can’t for the life of me remember anything about my first week of class, but I have vivid memories of packing up my car (with the help of the boyfriend who I thought was THE ONE at the time), driving down with my family, setting up my room, and meeting the friends I had made at freshman orientation, the friends who are still some of my favorite people. That first fall was fun and exciting and traumatic, full of late nights studying at Waffle House, of hiking down 3 flights of stairs into a creepy basement to do laundry, of going to class in pajamas, of sitting on the dorm steps with one of my best friends until all hours, writing and talking and writing some more.  I doubt I’ll be able to make it to the 10 year high school reunion thanks to my current classwork, but if there were a leaving for college reunion? If I could spend a weekend sitting on our favorite step and reminiscing with those dear friends? I’d be there in a heartbeat.

This trip to college won’t be the same. My first turn through grad school certainly took me by surprise, as I spent two years focused only on schoolwork while I dealt with a school and a town I couldn’t stand. But this time won’t be like that either because I’m married now and not moving off to start somewhere new. I’ve got my hubs and some pretty awesome cats and dog to come home to, and I have a few more years of school and work and life under my belt. It all feels pretty good this time.

Wish me luck!

