75. Son of a Witch by Gregory Maguire – While I didn’t enjoy Son of a Witch as much as Wicked, it was an interesting sequel for those who want more of the story. And a PSA: if you’ve only seen the musical of Wicked and haven’t read the book, you’ve missed out. The well-developed plot and strong, strange characters pulled me into the book but were largely missing from the show.

76. Firebird by Mercedes Lackey – More of Lackey’s fairy tale/fantasy world.

77. Daughter of the Blood by Anne Bishop – The best thing I can say about this book is that it reminded me why I’ve always been skeptical of book recommendations. I think lovely book bloggers have lulled me into a feeling of trust lately because your recommendations introduce me to so many awesome books. Daughter of the Blood (first book in the Black Jewels series) was recommended to me by someone who shared my enjoyment of Lackey’s fantasy books, but our opinions on Bishop’s writing differed sharply because, well, I hated it. My issue was not necessarily the violence or perversion, but the writing itself. The Black Jewels series is wildly popular, so if you’re a fan of paranormal romance, go ahead and give them a try. I’ll file this under “I am most definitely not the target audience.”

78. Uglies by Scott Westerfeld – This is the first book of the Uglies trilogy, and I would highly recommend it to fans of the Hunger Games books. While Uglies is not as well-developed or entrancing as The Hunger Games, the story is still interesting and worth a read. I loved that the trilogy is set in a dystopian world that believes it’s a utopia.

79. The English American by Alison Larkin – This is the story of an adopted girl who grew up in a British family who finally meets her birth family from the American south. It was a quick, enjoyable read that I would recommend to others who are curious about the stories of people who were adopted, even if parts of the novel are a bit ridiculous.

